Top 10 Insurance Designations

Not all insurance agents are created equal.

When you choose an agent make sure to consider their professional designations. We created a Top 10 List of Insurance Agent Designations so you can make an educated decision when choosing an agent.

1. CPCU – Chartered Property Casualty Underwriter
This is arguably the most comprehensive and respected designation in property and casualty insurance – equivalent to a masters degree in insurance. CPCU designation is offered through the Insurance Institute of America. You must pass eight courses and five foundation courses to earn the CPCU.

2. CIC – Certified Insurance Counselor
Offered through the National Alliance for Insurance Education & Research, the CIC program has been the one of the industry’s premier, proven designations since 1969. CIC covers aspects in personal lines, commercial casualty, commercial property, life and health and agency management.

3. AAI – Accredited Advisor in Insurance
Also offered by the Insurance Institute of America, this course focuses on all aspects of the P&C insurance industry including underwriting, commercial and personal lines, agency management and even customer service.

4. CLCS – Commercial Lines Coverage Specialist
Created for new insurance producers, agents, managers, CSR’s. The CLCS is one of the most comprehensive programs available for commercial lines insurance.  This designation is sponsored by The National Underwriter Company.

5. CRM – Certified Risk Manager
This designation is offered through the National Alliance for Insurance Education & Research. This designation is focus on identifying, analyzing, controlling, financing, and administering organizational risks.

6. ARM – Associate In Risk Management
As the name suggests this designation is focused on risk management. Identification and evaluation of loss exposures and analysis of risk control and financing techniques for each exposure. In other words – they can identify risk and help you manage them. This designation is also offered through the Insurance Institute of America.

7. CISR – Certified Insurance Service Representative
Also provided through the National Alliance for Insurance Education & Research the CISR designation stresses methods to minimize E&O claims by understanding risks and exposures.

8. AIS – Associate In Insurance Services
The Insurance Institute of America provides this designation for associates who complete a course focused on customer service and continuous operational improvement.

9. PLCS – Personal Lines Coverage Specialist
PLCS is offered through by the National Underwriter Company. The focus of this designation is on personal lines insurance and it is the premier designation on the subject of home, auto and umbrella coverage.

10. AIC – Associate In Claims
Designation offered by the Insurance Institute of America that focuses on technical claim handling abilities and negotiation skills. This knowledge is extremely valuable if your face a serious claim.

There are other factors to consider when choosing an insurance agent. However, an agent that has designations has proven they’re willing to put extra time into understanding your business needs. All things being equal an agent with solid professional education is going to serve you better in the long run.

Leave a Reply